Apostolos\’ Daily Plate

An American in Athens who shows only disrespect to her host country!

Posted in Πολιτικά by asyropoulos on Ιουλίου 27, 2008

Kat, an American in Athens, keeps a blog. In this blog she posts articles about things she finds interesting. So far so good. However, in a recent article she explained why in her opinion Greece is not a member of the U.S.A. visa waiver program. I responded to this article by saying that instead of «begging» the U.S.A. to enter the visa waiver program, Greece should work with its allies and friends in the EU to impose a visa to all U.S. citizens. Of course she did not agree with this idea, but she was rude enough to suggest that Greece does not have the organization to force something like this to the U.S.A. And then she went on to suggest that we Greeks should try to solve our problems and leave the centurions alone. Unfortunately for Kat, the EU has similar views to mine (what a coincidence!) and so she decided to modify her web page. And she did this twice! Fortunately, Google caches each web page its robots have visited. So you can read here her web page after the first editing. Interestingly, she complained once about some Greek authorities that have plagiarized her articles, something I strongly condemn, as I do condemn what she systematically does: to edit responses so as to suit her views.

Dear Kat, if you do not like Greece, if you think Greeks are too rude for your taste, and if you think that Greece is an uncivilized country, then you are very welcome to leave us alone. I can assure you, no one will miss you!

PS Now that Greece has been  officially excluded from the U.S. visa waiver program for political reasons, I would really like to read yet another silly justification of this action.

10 Σχόλια

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kat said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 10:01 πμ

    As with your comments on my site, this post about me shows only one narrow view. In that way, you are guilty of editing research to suit your views; I, on the other hand, edit articles as new information comes available and I remove comments (such as yours) that are irrelevant and are a thin guise of hate to personally criticize me and my homeland.

    You also fail to take into account the entire view, where I say that all countries (including my homeland) have good and bad. No country is perfect — not Greece, not the USA, not any country.

    Just because I have chosen to live in your country, it does not mean I must stay blind, deaf and speechless. I write about reality — it is not good or bad, it is not about complaints or criticism, it is not love or hate. It’s my reality. Yours is different as a Greek, and you fail to see that. But I’d like to point out that Greeks are rude to Greeks as well.

    Unlike you, I am not in denial and can see all countries’ shortcomings and faults. I understand what Greece’s are, and I love her anyway. This is true love. Too often patriotism is confused with nationalism, and you are a perfect example of that, and this is what makes you blind. I will miss Greece when I leave, however I will not miss people like you and I’m totally fine that you won’t miss me either.

    P.S. An ethics committee has found in my favor regarding all three incidents of plagiarism, not only pertaining to the Consular General, but two Greek newspapers who did the same. Plagiarizing verbatim and editing are not the same thing.

  2. Kat said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 10:04 πμ

    As with your comments on my site, this post about me shows only one narrow view. In that way, you are guilty of editing research to suit your views; I, on the other hand, edit articles as new information comes available and I remove comments (such as yours) that are irrelevant and are a thin guise of hate to personally criticize me and my homeland.

    You also fail to take into account the entire view, where I say that all countries (including my homeland) have good and bad. No country is perfect — not Greece, not the USA, not any country. I never said Greece was uncivilized, and I never said Greeks were too rude. But I’d like to point out that Greeks are rude to Greeks as well.

    Just because I have chosen to live in your country, it does not mean I must stay blind, deaf and speechless. I write about reality — it is not good or bad, it is not about complaints or criticism, it is not love or hate. It’s my reality. Yours is different as a Greek, and you fail to see that.

    Unlike you, I am not in denial and can see all countries’ shortcomings and faults. I understand what Greece’s are, and I love her anyway. This is true love. Too often patriotism is confused with nationalism, and you are a perfect example of that, and this is what makes you blind. I will miss Greece when I leave, however I will not miss people like you and I’m totally fine that you won’t miss me either.

    P.S. An ethics committee has found in my favor regarding all three incidents of plagiarism, not only pertaining to the Consular General, but two Greek newspapers who did the same. Plagiarizing verbatim and editing are not the same thing.

  3. Amerikanaki said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 10:34 πμ

    The problem with Europe or Greece for that matter imposing a Visa on US Citizens is that Americans travel all over (including Greece) and spend more money per capita that the Europeans when they come to the states. So, it’s just about economics. Greece is a country where poor service, rude people, obnoxious taxi drivers, animal abuse goes unpunished.

    Why would anyone want to return to Greece to be exposed to this behavior. So, instead of criticizing Kat you may want to take the example of your Greek tourism minister Spilliotopoulos who is trying to punish Greeks who misbehave.

    Why not correct your problems instead of blaming Americans who point them out.

    America has problems and we try to fix them, but Greece just wants to point fingers instead of realizing.

    I’m sure you won’t print this but at least you’ve read it.

  4. asyropoulos said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 10:57 πμ

    Just because I have chosen to live in your country, it does not mean I must stay blind, deaf and speechless. I write about reality — it is not good or bad, it is not about complaints or criticism, it is not love or hate. It’s my reality. Yours is different as a Greek, and you fail to see that. But I’d like to point out that Greeks are rude to Greeks as well.

    I have lived and studied in foreign lands. The lesson I have learned was that I am not entitled to express my opinion about the countries I lived.

    P.S. An ethics committee has found in my favor regarding all three incidents of plagiarism, not only pertaining to the Consular General, but two Greek newspapers who did the same. Plagiarizing verbatim and editing are not the same thing.

    It is absolutely the same thing: both are alterations of truth.

  5. asyropoulos said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 11:02 πμ

    You also fail to take into account the entire view, where I say that all countries (including my homeland) have good and bad. No country is perfect — not Greece, not the USA, not any country. I never said Greece was uncivilized, and I never said Greeks were too rude. But I’d like to point out that Greeks are rude to Greeks as well.

    I can tell you a million good things about your country and million bad things about your country. However, these are your business, not ours. If there is something good in a foreign land we can «copy» it, but again: No one is entitled to criticize other nations,

  6. asyropoulos said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 11:08 πμ

    The problem with Europe or Greece for that matter imposing a Visa on US Citizens is that Americans travel all over (including Greece) and spend more money per capita that the Europeans when they come to the states. So, it’s just about economics.

    And the Europeans who visit the U.S.A. are beggars who beg the rich Americans for money to spend during their stay.

    Greece is a country where poor service, rude people, obnoxious taxi drivers, animal abuse goes unpunished.

    If people do not like Greece and Greeks, then they should not visit Greece.

    Why would anyone want to return to Greece to be exposed to this behavior. So, instead of criticizing Kat you may want to take the example of your Greek tourism minister Spilliotopoulos who is trying to punish Greeks who misbehave.

    Quoting an American, president J.F. Kennedt, I would say: «ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country». What did you do for your country? My guess is NOTHING!

  7. Amerikanaki said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 1:20 μμ

    I will not post or visit this site again. You are truly too blinded by unrealistic nationalism or immaturity to be objective. Good Luck telling people, «LOOK AT ME, Greece is great». But, remember, true greatness doesn’t need to have a sign telling people that it’s great. That’s the lesson most Greeks never learn. Modesty is the best policy like other great three letter/word nations….

  8. Kat said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 1:30 μμ

    You also incorrectly report something in your post, which is not a surprise to me. In the cache, I do say it would be completely OK with me to impose a visa requirement on Americans; no problem at all. I have taken great care to defend Greece on many occasions when your countrymen, Britons and other EU citizens have been more harsh in their criticism than I would ever be.

    I also find it strange that it took you 3 months to formulate this post and why you continue to visit my site and check caches, if you find me and its contents so worthless.

    Deleting readers’ opinions of no relevance and nationalistic/ignorant tone is completely different than stealing a factual article word-for-word. Even looking up editing and plagiarism in the dictionary if you haven’t attended a proper journalism school will tell you that. And since you don’t know who stole what, you are (as usual) jumping to conclusions upon which you have no evidence and drawing conclusions on a topic of which you have no knowledge.

    «No one is entitled to criticize other nations?» Wow, you are way out of touch with reality and your country where Greeks claim it is «very free here to do anything.» In reality, everyone criticizes everyone, just as you’ve devoted a whole post to criticizing me. I won’t visit this site again, so feel free to keep venting your personal vendettas in public; it’s your right and freedom. You and your opinions are of no consequence to me.

    Good luck to you and your endeavours! I wish you the best. 🙂

  9. asyropoulos said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 1:42 μμ

    What is objective for one person is completely subjective to another. But your reaction proves exactly my point: you are yet another frustrated Greek who lives in a foreign country and all you do is to blame your country. As far it regards the illusions of grandness, you are wrong again. It is one think to defend everything that identifies oneself and another to try to steal someone’s identity just because one is not happy with his/her own identity. Greeks, Americans, and all people should be proud about what they are because each nation, and each person has contributed something to mankind. But then again. I guess you have your job and your life to live.

  10. asyropoulos said, on Ιουλίου 28, 2008 at 2:47 μμ

    I also find it strange that it took you 3 months to formulate this post and why you continue to visit my site and check caches, if you find me and its contents so worthless.

    The first time I sent you a reply I thought that somehow I did something wrong and my message was deleted. But it turned out that you deliberately modify postings. The last time you exercised this practice, I got the Google cache and I kept on my hard disk.
    So it has nothing to do with the quality of your writings.

    “No one is entitled to criticize other nations?” Wow, you are way out of touch with reality and your country where Greeks claim it is “very free here to do anything.” In reality, everyone criticizes everyone, just as you’ve devoted a whole post to criticizing me.

    It is one think to critisize individuals and another to critisize whole nations.

    I won’t visit this site again, so feel free to keep venting your personal vendettas in public; it’s your right and freedom. You and your opinions are of no consequence to me.

    Although this will ruin my life, I will try to overcome it! But knowing that my opionions are of no consequence to you makes things even more difficult for me…


Σχολιάστε

